Translating the Power of Precision Medicine Into the World of Communication Disorders.
Beate Peter, Jennifer Davis, Laurel Bruce and 13 others
PMID 40990846WHAT IT FOUND
In infants with classic galactosemia, SLP-coached parent-led Babble Boot Camp before 6 months had higher babble complexity than typically developing controls at 12 to 16 months and higher than the 15-month start group at 15 months.
No later speech or language outcomes were reported.
Key findings
01The group that entered speech and language intervention before 6 months had higher mean babbling level scores than the control group at 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 months, and higher scores than the 15-month start group at 15 months.
02The group that entered speech and language intervention at 15 months showed no difference in mean babbling level scores from the control group.
03Among participants with both gating and word-pair data, lower neural gating was associated with greater inaccuracy on different word pairs, and this was driven by seven of 14 participants with dyslexia and one of 14 controls.
STILL TO COME
How it was doneWhat they foundWhat it means for SLPs
Read the rest of this summary
You get three full summaries a month, free, and we do not ask for a card. Search, the TL;DRs and your library stay unlimited either way.
What it does not show
The article is a review that combines narrative overview, a Babble Boot Camp trial, dyslexia experiments, and a Down syndrome pilot. The Babble Boot Camp trial reported babble complexity only; later speech and language outcomes were not presented. The supplied text does not state random allocation for the Babble Boot Camp groups. Typically developing controls produced fewer babbled utterances with age, so babble complexity data were shown only up to 18 months. The dyslexia gating and word-pair studies included small samples: 14 adults with dyslexia and 14 controls in gating, and 22 adults with dyslexia and 20 controls in word pairs. The gating pattern was driven by seven of 14 participants with dyslexia and one of 14 controls. In the gating study, participants with dyslexia were older than controls. The Down syndrome results come from a pilot of 10 children. Prophylactic speech and language services for infants at genetic risk are not widely available. Interventions targeting dyslexia endophenotypes have not yet been clinically trialed. The Babble Boot Camp trial required English as the main home language, at least one caregiver with at least an eighth-grade education, and no additional confounding condition, and families were in the United States, Canada, or the United Kingdom.
Declared interests
Funding included the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders award R13DC003383 for the 2024 ASHA Research Symposium, R01HD098253 to B. Peter, N. Potter, and M. VanDam, University of Washington Research Royalty Fund to B. Peter and H. Panagiotides, American Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation Clinical Research Grant to B. Peter, L. Finestack, S. Loveall, S. Buckley, and M. VanDam, and Arizona State University Women and Philanthropy to B. Peter and A. Peter. The supplied text lists these funding sources but does not state a conflict-of-interest declaration.
The easy way to misread this
Do not conclude that early Babble Boot Camp prevents speech or language disorders. The trial reported only babble complexity, and the authors state that whether this boost is foundational for later speech and language skills will be addressed in future studies.
Summarised by AI from the full paper, without a clinician reviewing it. Check it against the source before it changes what you do. Read it on PubMed →