OTPilotFrontiers in rehabilitation sciences2023

The memory clinic and psychosocial intervention: Translating past promise into current practices.

Esme Moniz-Cook, Gail Mountain

PMID 37214129

WHAT IT FOUND

A multi-component post-diagnostic package (care-coordinator support, GP/clinic liaison, health review, memory aids, behavioural activation, communication training) was associated with less depression, fewer reported memory and behaviour problems, better carer coping and home-care maintenance over 12 months in 48 families; components cannot be separated.

Key findings

01The experimental group had less depression than the control group at 12 months (Cornell Scale mean 2.38 vs 7.23).

02The experimental group had fewer reported memory and behaviour problems at 12 months (mean 10.81 vs 20.0).

03Maintenance of care at home was better in the experimental group than the control group (92% vs 65%).

STILL TO COME

How it was doneWhat they foundWhat it means for OTs

Read the rest of this summary

You get three full summaries a month, free, and we do not ask for a card. Search, the TL;DRs and your library stay unlimited either way.

Already have one?

What it does not show

This was an exploratory single-locality RCT with 48 participants, so it cannot show whether the package would work in other services or larger populations. Primary and secondary outcomes were not specified, so the reported effects are not a definitive test of a single endpoint. The experimental condition was a multi-component package; the contribution of care-coordination, GP liaison, health review, memory aids, behavioural activation and communication training cannot be separated. Cognition deteriorated in both groups, so the package did not show a cognitive benefit. The difference in total intervention contacts was not marked (P=0.06), although experimental families had more contacts in the first six months. Planned longitudinal data beyond 12 months were not collected because research staff were lost. Treatment data for ongoing conditions such as infection were collected but not analysed; audit of intervention content and process or cost evaluations were not analysed. Not all GPs fully adopted the collaborative approach, so engagement with primary care was uneven. The study was conducted before acetylcholinesterase inhibitors were available for Alzheimer's disease, so current treatment context differs. At 12 months, the table reports 23 experimental and 15 control participants, so the analysed sample was smaller than baseline.

The easy way to misread this

Do not read this as proof that a memory clinic care-coordinator alone causes better outcomes. The trial was exploratory, had 48 participants, did not specify primary or secondary outcomes, and delivered diagnosis communication, GP liaison, health review, memory aids, behavioural activation and communication training together; their separate contributions cannot be separated. It also predates current dementia care arrangements, so it cannot tell you what will happen in your service.

Read it on PubMed →